### Notice of Meeting

## Joint Overview & Scrutiny Committee to review 'Healthcare for London'

# FRIDAY, 14TH MARCH, 2008 at 10:00 HRS - LONDON BOROUGH OF EALING, EALING TOWN HALL, COUNCIL CHAMBER, NEW BROADWAY, W5 2BY.

Issue date: 6 March 2008 Contact: gavin.wilson@rbkc.gov.uk; tel: 020 7361 2264

Committee Membership: attached.

## Public Agenda

#### 1. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

#### 2. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Any Member of the Committee, or any other Member present in the meeting room, having any personal or prejudicial interest in any item before the meeting is reminded to make the appropriate oral declaration at the start of proceedings. At meetings where the public are allowed to be in attendance and with permission speak, any Member with a prejudicial interest may also make representations, answer questions or give evidence but must then withdraw from the meeting room before the matter is discussed and before any vote is taken.

#### 3. CHAIRMANS WELCOME AND INTRODUCTION

#### 4. MINUTES (PAGES 1 - 18)

To agree the minutes of the meeting held on 22 February 2008 (attached).

#### 5. SUBMISSIONS TO THE JOINT OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEE (PAGES 19 - 66)

(Attached)

#### 6. WITNESS SESSION 1: HEALTHCARE FOR LONDON

**Professor Ian Gilmore -** *Royal College of Physicians* **Martin Else -** *Chief Executive, Royal College of Physicians* 

#### 7. WITNESS SESSION 2: HEALTHCARE FOR LONDON

Michele Dix – Managing Director TFL Planning, Transport for London

#### 8. WITNESS SESSION 3: HEALTHCARE FOR LONDON

Jason Killens – Assistant Director of Operations, London Ambulance Service

A sandwich lunch will be served at the end of the morning session, at around 1.00 p.m. The afternoon session is scheduled to begin at 1.45 p.m.

#### **Afternoon Session**

#### 9. WITNESS SESSION 4: HEALTHCARE FOR LONDON

**Tom Sandford –** *Director, Royal College of Nursing* **Bernell Bussue –** *Director, Royal College of Nursing* 

#### 10. WIITNESS SESSION 5: HEALTHCARE FOR LONDON

Bobbie Jacobson – Director, London Health Observatory

#### 11. ANY OTHER ORAL OR WRITTEN ITEMS WHICH THE CHAIR CONSIDERS URGENT

N.B. Business for the day's proceedings has been scheduled to allow the meeting to conclude by around 3.30 pm.

[Each written report on the public part of the Agenda as detailed above:

- (i) was made available for public inspection from the date of the Agenda;
- (ii) incorporates a list of the background papers which (i) disclose any facts or matters on which that report, or any important part of it, is based; and (ii) have been relied upon to a material extent in preparing it. (Relevant documents which contain confidential or exempt information are not listed.); and
- (iii) may, with the consent of the Chairman and subject to specified reasons, be supported at the meeting by way of oral statement or further written report in the event of special circumstances arising after the despatch of the Agenda.]

#### **Exclusion of the Press and Public**

There are no matters scheduled to be discussed at this meeting that would appear to disclose confidential or exempt information under the provisions Schedule 12A of the Local Government (Access to Information) Act 1985.

Should any such matters arise during the course of discussion of the above items or should the Chairman agree to discuss any other such matters on the grounds of urgency, the Committee will wish to resolve to exclude the press and public by virtue of the private nature of the business to be transacted.

#### 12. PARTICIPATING AUTHORITIES

#### **PARTICIPATING AUTHORITIES**

#### London Boroughs

Barking and Dagenham - Cllr Marie West Barnet - Cllr Richard Cornelius Bexley - Cllr David Hurt Brent – Cllr Chris Leaman Bromley - Cllr Carole Hubbard Camden - Cllr David Abrahams City of London - Cllr Ken Ayers Croydon - Cllr Graham Bass Ealing - Cllr Mark Reen Enfield - Cllr Ann-Marie Pearce Greenwich - Cllr Janet Gillman Hackney - Cllr Jonathan McShane Hammersmith and Fulham - Cllr Peter Tobias Haringey - Cllr Gideon Bull Harrow - Cllr Vina Mithani Havering - Cllr Ted Eden Hillingdon - Cllr Mary O'Connor Hounslow - Cllr Jon Hardy Islington - Cllr Meral Ece Kensington and Chelsea - Cllr Christopher Buckmaster Kingston upon Thames - Cllr Don Jordan Lambeth - Cllr Helen O'Malley Lewisham - Cllr Sylvia Scott Merton - Cllr Gilli Lewis-Lavender Newham - Cllr Megan Harris Mitchell Redbridge - Cllr Allan Burgess Richmond upon Thames - Cllr Nicola Urguhart Southwark - Cllr Adedokun Lasaki Sutton - Cllr Stuart Gordon-Bullock **Tower Hamlets - Cllr Marc Francis** Waltham Forest - Cllr Richard Sweden Wandsworth - Cllr Ian Hart Westminster - Cllr Barrie Taylor

Health Scrutiny chairmen for social services authorities covering the areas of all the non-London PCTs to whom NHS London wrote in connection with 'Healthcare for London' were contacted (August 2007) concerning participation in the proposed JOSC. As of 30/11/07 (the first meeting of the JOSC) those authorities who have indicated a preference for participation are as follows:

#### **Out-of-London Local Authorities**

Essex – Cllr Christopher Pond Surrey County Council – Cllr Chris Pitt